Collective Covenant (A Group Participation Project)

This will not work without group participation, but I’ll take a bit of a risk.

For the last several months, our church has been walking through a survey of the Old Testament. We’ve watched as the patriarchs experienced the living God. We’ve heard the prophets beg the Israelites to return. We’ve been reminded:

God made covenant with a single nomadic man, so that he could set apart a chosen people, so that he could step into a fallen world and redeem the broken and lost pieces.

Though we think about God’s Old Testament covenant as playing out on a national level, it’s the testimonies of the individual that remind us of a personal God.  He was the faithful provider of Abraham. He was the wrestling blesser of Jacob. He was the hope of salvation to Rahab. He was the promoter of Joseph. He was the merciful father of David. He was the prayer and work-ethic of Nehemiah.

God’s evidenced his eternal purpose through the stories of his people. And ultimately, those stories remind us of his overarching plan for redemption.

Here’s your part (I hope). How, when, and where did God cut covenant with you? I’d love to collect your stories in the comments below, to see how that scarlet thread of Christ’s narrative started with Abraham and ran all the way through history to your life.

So, who’s first?

**and for those of you who are wondering, the serial story ain’t finished yet.  We’re just taking an ever-so brief break.  Letting some of the pressure out of the cooker, so to speak.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Collective Covenant (A Group Participation Project)

  1. sethhaines says:

    I’ll be checking back in later this evening and hope to share a bit of my story.

  2. Ideally, I would like to be a part of fulfilling your desire to share stories of covenant (is “cut” the same thing as “make” in the question you asked?), but it might not be today or tomorrow.

    I’ll come back when I can carve the time!

    E

    • sethhaines says:

      I’m just getting back to this conversation myself (what a week).

      I found myself finding the truth of the covenant in a Mozambiquan man eating a mango out of a trash heap. I know that sounds crazy, but God spoke to me in that moment about avarice and my particular world view. Through that moment God has continued to unfold a good bit in my life–anger (maybe even hatred), mouthy-ness, hubris. He was faithful to reconcile me to Amber in the heat of all of that. He is faithful to have made new covenants with me as he undoes me. He is a good and gracious God.

      I need to go back to Northern Mozi. Build an alter.

  3. J. Ray says:

    The covenant was cut when the skin of the animals in the garden were offered up as not as haughty trophy but as covering for shamed humanity. It was cut when the first foreskins were removed not as an act of castration, but as the sign and promise of fruitfulness. It was cut when the blood on the altars was offered not as fearful appeasement to a vindictive deity, but as recognition of costly salvation. It was cut, ultimately and forever (but not for the first time and not for the last time) on the cross, when execution was replaced with resurrection.

    This covenant was made long before my brief wisp of existence came and will continue forever after my body returns to mulch.

    But it has appeared to me in the times I have cursed God and received back only blessing. When I have strived to earn my own way and been met with only grace. When I have lusted after the whores of everything that is not God and been welcomed back into His arms without so much as a sniff of condescension.

    Covenant is cut this misty morning as my heart breaks and my spirit in crushed in longing. This mercy is not new, but it is fresh, and it coming yet still.

    • sethhaines says:

      Dude…

      Anytime you want to drop by here and scratch out some words, you have (not that you need) my blessing. Good words. I’m thinking about the “misty morning” and how you walk in mercy.

      Thanks for stopping by here to cut a vein or two, John.

Leave a Reply

