Words Can be Work

It’s the tedious work of the church that’s mighty—difficult, though it seems. Josh asked me to pray for his tough decision. I did. Not thinking twice, I offered material-less work—you see, words to a creator matter. Little did I know the power in a single prayer, that you could see grace unimaginable, too. Simple.

It’s the tedious work of the church that’s mighty difficult. Though it seems Josh asked me to pray for his tough decision, I did not. Thinking twice, I offered material. Less work, you see. Words to a creator matter little. Did I know the power in a single prayer? That you could see grace unimaginable? Too simple.

*Graphic: content found here.

**Graphic content found here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Words Can be Work

  1. tc says:

    brilliant!

  2. Robin Dance says:

    🙂 Made me smile, Grammar Girl, that I am.

  3. abby says:

    boom-chicka-boom!

    • sethhaines says:

      Are you sure that wasn’t supposed to be BOOM! Chick. A Boom?

      I’m not sure what that meant. I want you to start writing here again. I miss my friends Abby, Matt, and Kev… er… Hamster.

  4. Matt says:

    it is interesting the power of action vs. that of words alone, and yet words are mighty powerful too.
    I work with adults who have lived sad and isolated lives because they are still under the weight of
    the hateful words of their parents. Conversely, i see children who, once parents begin to praise
    and validate them with their words, begin to come alive. We can oppress with our actions, even kill-
    in the physical sense, but with our words we can free or torture others and the effects can last generations.
    Punctuation aside, in truth it isn’t a matter of what is funny and clever or not, but about being intentional
    about both what we say and what we do.
    thanks for this.

  5. Pingback: The Economy of Words

  6. You know, I have over-subscribed myself to too many blogs. During these earliest months of retirement, I’m trying to see what’s out there, tighten my own writing, offer encouragement wherever I can – and in the process, I’ve signed my email address to lots and lots of places. I followed your link from a Deeper Story and quickly glanced at this post. And, in keeping with my desire to move through this morning’s deluge in a timely fashion, I did not read this as carefully as I might have, at least the first time through. And this one definitely requires attention. Lovely, challenging, mindful. Thank you. Time to unsubscribe here and there, methinks. However, I am now subscribing to yours. {smile}

    • sethhaines says:

      Diane,

      You are too kind. I promise not to flood your inbox with too many words. If I break my promise, feel free to scold me.

      Thanks again.

      • I promise never to scold you again, but I will gently do so in this moment. There is an ‘a’ at the end of my name. My dad thought long and hard about whether to include that letter and opted to keep it. So I try to honor that, and to kindly correct the all-too-common assumption that I am a DianE instead of a DianA. So consider yourself kindly corrected. As you have noted so brilliantly in this post, little things (like commas, periods and letters) can make a difference. Greatly looking forward to more posts.

      • sethhaines says:

        Diana,

        Many many apologies. I once misspelled dearabbyleigh’s name too. Coincidentally, I tried to give her an “e” also.

        Look forward to hearing more from you.

Leave a Reply

