On DNA and Consumption

We are composed of carefully coded bits of information, a double helix holding the spark of life.  Mine says that I am to have strong hair and fingernails. I was a predestined asthmatic. My code gave me mismatched toes and a suitable tolerance for religion.  I am thick-skinned.  I am the same height as my grandfather. A grand man, that George W. Mouk.

Each of us carries our own code.  Some of it is shared, like how your smile reminds everyone in your family of your great Aunt Lucy who passed just after the Great Depression.  She was penny pincher, they say. You are a spend-thrift.  Those may just be generational difference, though.  The code only goes so far.

We all share a particular bit of DNA coding, though.  Every winter when the Rocky Mountain air blows south, our bodies remind us that the lean months are coming, that we should store up a nice layer of fat.  Before the industrialization of the market we listened rightly.  We killed an extra deer and salted it’s meat.  We planted tubers that would make it through the cold months.  We gathered grains in the storehouse like Joseph waiting for the seven skinny calves to devour the seven fat ones.   The bit was made for our survival. Oh, gracious God.

Somewhere along the way the propagandizers learned the art of exploitation and hacked this particularly vulnerable bit of the double helix.  They learned to manipulate our coded proclivities, to make us feel the need of constant consumption.  They’ve told us that self-control is sub-human or at least unpatriotic.  More inputs, they say. More fuels. More plastics. More food. More finance. More stimulation.  Always more stimulation.  Our lifestyles are unsustainable without more stimulation. And our genetics make us particularly receptive to these messages. The market knows it.

I carry remnants of my grandfather’s smile.  I remember him saying, “save some for the winter, boy.”  Somehow I hope I haven’t consumed it all when the seasons change.

Gracious God, protect us from ourselves.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On DNA and Consumption

  1. Debra says:

    I love that Seth. I believe all the busyness and consumerism and things to do and just things are satan’s tool to keep believers ineffective. Simplicity and quiet and saving and savouring (is that spelled right?) life and all that is nature and family and Jesus. Sabbath living. That is what I love and yearn for and seek after and choose. Maybe our not looking like everyone else will look like Jesus to someone! 🙂

    • sethhaines says:

      Very good points. It’s difficult though, right? The messages from the media mess with me. They are so good at what they do.

      • Debra says:

        Yes, they are good. those media folks, but they aren’t always right and/or even truthful. One of the reasons we watch limited, extremely limited, t.v. and don’t watch or read much of the news. I find myself getting caught up in what people say and fear creeps in instead of listening to Him and what He says and what is His truth and declaring it over our lives. It is practicing the discipline of taking every thought captive. God is crazy good that way, isnt’ He!

      • Deidra says:

        The messages from the media mess with me, too.

Leave a Reply

