A Modest Hope For Titus Lee.

We are at the tipping point.  Amber’s near nine months of pregnancy simmers under sweltering Arkansas heat. I’ve heard it was 105 today in Texarkana. In Fayetteville, we’ve only just cracked triple digits.

I wish Titus Lee were here to see heat vapors swimming upwards from the pavement.  It’d be a fascinating first sight, the way temperature becomes visible, the way mirages dance.  The midwife says he has a few weeks to go, though.  And besides, newborns can’t see more than a few inches in front of their noses.

I imagine that he’ll grow quickly. We all do.  He’ll learn to eat solid food soon, learn to say “scared” instead of “scarwed.”  He’ll have a first grade Sarah.  They’ll be destined for marriage until he meets his fourth grade Emily, and so on.  He might play piano or guitar or he might dunk a basketball.  In high school, he might be in show-choir like his momma.  They’ll sing Smells Like Teen Spirit, and he’ll tell us how much he loves that kind of classic rock.  In college, he’ll major in partying until he meets Jesus. Or maybe he’ll major in Jesus from the get go. That’d make me proud.  He’ll marry, have children, work a job.  I hope he and his brothers eulogize me at my funeral.  They’ll say I wasn’t perfect.  But I hope they say rightly,

he was a good man; he was my dad.

And one day, when this breath is over, we’ll all stand around the throne with my folks, my grandfolks, and the great saints.  We’ll remember the great mirages of summers past, and we’ll rejoice in fullness of the real.

*It goes so fast, Amber. Really. I think it does.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Modest Hope For Titus Lee.

  1. Matt Brock says:

    i liked this. i really did.

    B.

  2. Arianne says:

    Oh so fast.

    If this is a girl inside she’ll only be a month behind Titus in birthdays. Maybe she’ll make her way to that same college and they’ll meet. Moms like to think of these things. 😉

  3. Abby says:

    so lovely. I hope the heat holds you all together in a moment before the race begins. I love titus already, and am proud to share a.middle name with the next great haines boy.

    • sethhaines says:

      Now that’s also really grand. My Dad’s middle name is Lee. I have an Uncle Lee. I have a good friend Nicole Tatum (maiden Lee). All of you people are good people. So when we sat down to figure how we would ensure that Titus was good people, we adopted a name strategy. Pretty solid logic, eh?

  4. That was really beautiful. And, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the name Titus Lee.

  5. Sara Sophia says:

    I like you and your pretty pretty wife.

    I like your children–both those out standing in the sun and those still safe in dark places.

    Yay for Titus Lee ❤

  6. Matt Tatum says:

    Can’t wait to meet the newest member of the Haines family! James is 2 feet tall now, so between that and the athletic genes that Nicole and I have gifted him with I expect him to be dunking a basketball soon. Maybe James can fill in on pick-up games until you have your fifth child and have a full-roster on your family basketball team?

  7. Pingback: A Modest Hope for Titus Lee (Part II) | Seth Haines

Leave a Reply

