Kidmia

However, at current rate, it is estimated that it would take 5.5 million families 125 billion US dollars and 2,500 years to solve Ethiopia’s orphan crisis through international adoption alone and Institutional care is understood to be a last resort by all.

–Meron Tekleberhan

A brief post to ask the good people a simple question.  If you read one article today, might it be this one?  I love the people involved in this “organisation.”  What’s more, I love the focus on indigenous orphan care.  I will withhold social commentary and just say, this is important to me.

After you read the article, visit Kidmia’s site here.

This entry was posted in Ethiopia, Kidmia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kidmia

  1. Janna says:

    I really don’t know much about these matters, as I have not researched or invested in them the way you all have. However, I have to ask. The article makes it sound like orphanage directors are getting rich off international adoptions. Is that true? Could it not be they have grown used to relying on that money to run the orphanage (not that I have any idea what the orphanages are like in Ethiopia). Not trying to pick a fight here, I certainly see the value in this side of the equation. I just don’t think it’s an easy task to be a director and have a hard time believing they are all cold and care nothing about the children under their care. Am I wrong?

    • sethhaines says:

      First, let me say how glad I am that you dropped by here. You’re good people.

      “I just don’t think it’s an easy task to be a director and have a hard time believing they are all cold and care nothing about the children under their care. Am I wrong?”

      You are not wrong. At least I don’t think you are wrong.

      The questions you raise in your comment make me think of certain development principals and issues. It involves the dichotomy between dealing with the immediate necessity and attempting to solve the long term issue. Certainly both sides of the coin are warranted, and I am intellectually honest enough to concede that situations must be considered on a case by case basis. But ultimately, I think we need more Kidmia’s working for reconcilliation of the family unit. Otherwise, the math doesn’t work out.

  2. Janna says:

    Never was too good at math myself, but yes the solving of long term issues should not be ignored. Thanks for taking the time to illuminate. BTW, I liked your post last week about a quieter revolution. The questions you ended with are profound. Keep on asking.

    • sethhaines says:

      thanks. the quieter revolution is something i’m struggling with right now. many reasons. maybe I’ll flesh it out more soon.

      hope you and the barber are doing well. i showed a friend his (and hamster’s) three hands site last night. they’ve come a long way. tell him it looks great.

Leave a Reply

