Dan King–The Unlikely Missionary, Shalom Bearer, and All-Around Good Dude

Dan King just before giving a #doublefistbump

Dan King just before giving a #doublefistbump. Click photo for source.

“I wanted to fix everyone’s problems, but these problems are so big.  One man on one trip couldn’t possibly make that much of an impact.  I tried to remember that this trip was about planting seeds…” ~Dan King, the Unlikely Missionary

There are a few people you implicitly trust.

I met Dan King in a house full of world changers, a gathering of Shalom People.  It was the night before an orphan care conference and the speakers, contributors, and spouses mingled over dinner.

Gary was there, and he told me about the orphans in Zambia.

Aschalew was there, and we spoke of the political climate in Ethiopia.

John was there, and he told me about the time he met Will Ferrell, how the metaphor of a wandering Elf holds for our generation.

They were grand people, each of them in their own right.  But as I worked my way around the room, there was one dude I was particularly interested in meeting.

“Dan?” I asked as I extended my hand.  “You can call me BibleDude,” he said with a grin.

And then he hugged me.

We sat in some overstuffed chairs in the corner of the living room and he asked me my story, the one involving a trip to Mozambique.  He listened patiently, then told me his Africa story.  Dan spent time in Uganda and Kenya and assisted Five Talents, a micro-lending organization, in teaching grass roots financial planning.  He spoke of the beauty of the local people, how they drew him in.  Dan confessed in humility that he was nothing special, just a normal dude who had been blessed with an extraordinary opportunity.  He was an unlikely missionary, he said.

Dan and I spent nearly an hour huddled in that corner.  As I listened to his story I heard that still small voice whisper, “Dan is an uncommon man, a humble dude who follows well. Listen and learn.”

Dan shares that same story in his new book, The Ulikely Missionary: From Pew Warmer to Poverty Fighter.  He tells the tale of an ordinary working stiff who was transformed by the renewing of his mind.  The insights he shares are priceless, and he does it in uncommonly fluid and conversational dialogue.  You’ll feel like you’re sitting in one of those overstuffed living room chairs with us.

I’ve followed Dan more closely over these last few months.  He’s the real deal.  Won’t you take the time to GET TO KNOW HIM?

 

__________________________

**Dan’s book is available in print, Kindle, Nook, and .pdf formats.  There’s a format for everyone, so you HAVE NO EXCUSE! Consider this your peer pressure moment.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Dan King–The Unlikely Missionary, Shalom Bearer, and All-Around Good Dude

  1. Seth, you made me laugh. I don’t remember ever seeing a peer-pressure moment here!

  2. I wrote about this book – and Dan, too – about two weeks ago or so. You are right – he is the real deal – kind, humble, genuine. Hmmm…didn’t know about you and Mozambique. But then, you probably don’t know about me and Zambia, either. (however that was over 40 years ago, so it may not count…)

  3. Pingback: A Review by Seth Haines [of ...a collective] : The Unlikely Missionary:

  4. You really capture Dan’s spirit here. ( I love that he hugged you when you met–that is so *DUDE*) He has such the servant heart. Thanks for sharing this story. Neat to hear.

    • sethhaines says:

      If that dude told me we were charging Hell with water pistols on January 1st and that it was a “mad mission,” I’d ask him where we were meeting and if I could bring some confetti and party hats. That’s how much I like that dude. You don’t run across humility in action very often. He’s rare.

      • DUDE! charging hell with water pistols sounds AWESOME! but until we can get that organized, i’ll just be here doin’ my thing… and looking forward to getting back to Haiti in February…

        seriously though, seth. i appreciate the review, and still remember that night on the eve of #icorphan… and it makes me happy to hear you tell the story about it in this way. very cool. looking forward to the next time…

      • sethhaines says:

        Also looking forward to it. Really.

        And if we could wrap it all up with Diana’s Zambia story… well that might be keen.

  5. Sam Van Eman says:

    Great description of Dan, Seth. I’ll second it. Dan is a good guy, and a humble one at that. I’m so busy making good impressions on the world as if I were God’s gift to it that humility stands out, which is why Dan stands out.

Leave a Reply

