The Sunday List ~ David, Bathsheba, and a Chinese Welder.

Pinterest / Home
*Original image here.

Sundays are a good day to slow down and take in a few words. What did you read this week? Here’s my Sunday List.

*****

This week, John Blase, Mason Slater, and I all wrote a piece that reference David and Bathsheba. Each of us use the story for a different purpose. I suppose that proves the power of narrative. It meets the reader where he is.

Amber wrote this week about silence and listening prayer. She needs a “Messianic fix,” she says. This is a good and honest piece. I hope you’ll share your thoughts.

I’ve always liked Brian Hirschy’s photography. It’s simple, clean, and often leaves me walking away saying “how did he do that?” I love his photograph of the welder.

Have you read Erika’s “plus one” piece at Deeper Story. It’s a good story, an encouraging one, a challenging one. Thanks, Erika.

In the way of books, I’ve been replowing old ground. The Furious Longing of God was one of my favorites when I read it a few years back. I picked it up again this week and guess what… it’s still good.

“…I am confident that God will raise up other unbalanced, unsound, and crazy writers to cry with me the French Easter liturgy:

L’amour de Dieu est folie!

L’amour de Dieu est folie!

(The love of God is folly!)”

Grab a copy this week and send me your thoughts. I’d love to hear your take.

*****

Now it’s your turn. What have you read (or written) that’s worth sharing this weekend? Books, blog posts, magazine articles, it’s all fair game. Come on; let’s build a reading list.

This entry was posted in The Sunday List, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

