Windchasing — a Social Media Post

“The friendship of the Lord is for those who fear him,
and he makes known to them his covenant.
My eyes are ever toward the Lord, for he will pluck
my feet out of the net.” ~Psalm 25:15

We’ve taken some time away from this internet space, Amber and I. It’s been a time to rest, refocus, observe, let the land lay fallow. It’s been good.

I’ve been writing a bit on my own, just a few thoughts about this internet space and the efficacy of “Christian living” in it. The Christ in culture discussion is interesting, especially when applied to social media. There are subscribers to be gained, followers to snare, friends to count. There are relevant thoughts to share, ideas to illuminate, “T”ruth to “E”xposit, heresies to combat, poor and sick people to save. There is a best foot to put forward. Always the very best foot.

Sometimes those things can turn the social media experience into a wind-chasing exercise. I could tell you I never chased the social media wind, but that’d be a lie.

These may sound like the rantings and confessions of social media deconstructionist. But I’m not. I’m here to stay. For a bit, at least. And in that time I just want to refocus on using this space well, on knowing how to be a friend of God in it. Not a facebook friend or a twitter follower. But a real, genuine friend who isn’t ashamed to let some words go unsaid in “fear.”

I’m mouthy, so… that might be hard.

This entry was posted in Social Media, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Windchasing — a Social Media Post

  1. Well, it’s good to see your ‘mouthiness’ back here. Also good to re-examine every once in a while. But tell me, did you just erase all the blogs you subscribe to? Because to me that’s the hard part about taking a break – the LONG list of things to read when you get back to it.

    • sethhaines says:

      Oh yes… that’s true. That, and the interactions with people you’ve grown to like a good bit.

      Glad to be back Diana. Can’t wait to hear what you’ve been up to.

  2. Kiki Malone says:

    “Did you ever know Him to set a road down by a house? I says. No you never, I says, because it’s always men cant rest till they gets the house set where everybody that passes in a wagon can spit in the doorway, keeping the folks restless and wanting to get up and go somewheres else when He aimed for them to stay put like a tree or a stand of corn. Because if He aimed for man to be always a-moving and going somewheres else, wouldn’t He a put him longways on his belly, like a snake? It stands to reason He would.” – Anse, in Faulkner’s AS I LAY DYING

    It’s not totally sound theology, but I just read this and thought it an interesting fit to what you’re saying about “windchasing.” Sometimes you just gotta stay put. Stand unwaving and let the road carry other people to other wheres while you just stand. Sometimes it’s the best you can do. I also like the idea of putting the house right on the road (ie. keeping your presence always in the media airs) as inviting the passersby to spit on your door. Again, not totally sound reasoning, particularly when most of your passersbyers are friendly, but it’s an interesting thought to why we step back into silence for rest. I miss your vocal twange, but I support your sabbatical and quiet search.

    • sethhaines says:

      I thought you might like to know that my father-in-law calls the afore-mentioned novel, As I die reading. I find this to be funny.

      However, your words ain’t funny. They’re good and right on. We’ll talk soon Malone. I swears it.

      • Kiki Malone says:

        Read this little bit today:

        “. . . and I reckon I am blessed in having a wife that ever strives for sanctity and well-doing like she says I am.” – Tull, in AS I LAY DYING

        I love that this dude’s wife told him how blessed he is to have her, and that he totally believes he’s blessed to have her BECAUSE she told him so. That’s great.

        Here’s to wives knowing they’re value to us!

Leave a Reply

