The Sunday List ~ On Prayer and Voice

Pinterest / Home
*Original image here.

Sunday is a good day to slow down and take in a few words. What did you read this week? Here’s my Sunday List.

*****

This last month has been an exercise in prayer, and not like you’d think. It’s been an exercise in receiving prayer, in finding comfort in the intercession of others. In that, I’ve realized that I’m a poor intercessor, perhaps too self-centered. Then I read Kimberly Conway Ireton’s practical approach to intercession. Have you considered a prayer window? I’m starting one soon at my own house.

I love the folks at A Deeper Story, and I reckon I should; I’m one of them. I particularly enjoy the honesty each of the story tellers brings to the table. But every now and then, someone throws down a game-changing piece. Read Mandy Steward’s piece about the mirage of god. If you don’t learn a thing or two about the importance of a writer’s personal voice, I’ll give you two bucks.

And speaking of voice, I’ve been working with the folks at Tweetspeak Poetry. A few weeks back, I had the best conversations with L.L. Barkat (Tweetspeak Queen) about personal and authentic voice. I love Ann Voskamp, John Blase, Preston Yancey and the like, but I ain’t them. My voice is different. Sometimes it’s a struggle not to closely emulate those you admire most… eh? All of that aside, if you want to learn a thing or two about good writing, head on over to Tweetsspeak. Tweetspeak’s Top 10 Poetic Picks is always a good place to start.

Finally, I’ve been reading a lot of Micha Boyett, Mason Slater, Haley Cloyd, John Blase, Lore Ferguson and others. Yes there’s a reason, but I can’t tell you why just yet (all in due time). In any event, I’d recommend you start reading these folks, if’n you ain’t already.

Now it’s your turn. What are you reading these days? Blog posts? Magazine Articles? Books? Lay it on us!

This entry was posted in The Sunday List, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Sunday List ~ On Prayer and Voice

  1. Oooooh, ooooooooh!!!! I know why you’re reading all those peeps!!! YEAH!!!! Like I said, you be a SNAZZY solicitor. πŸ™‚

    Also: You made Micha a boy and spelled her “Micah”. πŸ˜‰

  2. Also, also: Mason’s link goes to Haley’s page and Lore’s link goes to Micha’s. Someone missing a few of their faculties this morning, hmmmm??? πŸ™‚

  3. Micha Boyett says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Seth! Technically, the spelling “Micha” is not necessarily feminine, it’s just weird. (My dad’s Michael and they wanted to spell it like his name.) I’d rather be mispelled than mispronounced: “Mischa” anyone?

    Love this list! And being introduced to the “Tweetspeak Queen.”

  4. Chris Thornton says:

    The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway
    Collected Stroies by William Faulkner
    One Hundred and One Famous Poems
    The Complete Stories by Flannery O’Connor (I always go back to her)
    Beautiful Outlaw by John Eldridge
    Bloomberg News magazine (you know.. being a banker and all)
    I am a sucker for a good story though….

Leave a Reply

