The Saturdaily: Seth’s List

Pinterest / Home
*Original image here

I’m rebranding my Sunday List to “The Saturdaily: Seth’s List,” a weekly roundup of good writing, reading, and listening. Starting this week, Amber and I are posting our weekly recap on Saturday mornings. Make sure you check out Amber’s Saturdaily list here.

Kimberly Conway Ireton writes a bit about creating a literary culture. In it, she shares some favorite sentences from her literary week. I’ve always enjoyed folks with a knack for recognizing a good turn of phrase. Kimberly certainly delivers in her post “A Literary Life.” (As an aside, I certainly agree–stop whining, start contributing.)

Speaking of good sentences, Dave Malone composes a dandy in his post for Tweetspeak Poetry, “The Silence and Violence of Rain.” Writing of Ozarkan folk forecasting, crescent moons, katy-dids, and town-square banter,  Malone drops this dandy on us: “On the long, bone-white slab in front of my town’s post office, it’s too hot for even our chattiest of local raconteurs to share stories.” Perhaps I’m partial as a native to the region, but Dave’s piece is worth a read.

My college roommate swore he was a pacifist, and I looked at him wonky and say, “whaaa?” He was the first pacifist I’d met, had been raised on a steady diet of early Church of Christ writings on the subject. I’ve been fascinated with the arguments on either side ever since. This week, Emily Wierenga writes, “On Why I don’t Know if I’m a Paciffist.” Of cultural contradictions, she writes:

“A person I know says he’s a pacifist. He, the grandson of a man who fought in World War 2, and of another who fought in the navy, says that if someone were to threaten his family, he would not defend them

He says this and then he buys Modern Warfare 2. He says this and then he blows people’s heads off, virtually.”

It shouldn’t surprise me that Emily ponders the hard stuff. Good work, Emily.

I always love Harper’s weekly review. It’s everything you need to know about the happenings of the world, all in three simple paragraphs. This week’s review includes a “golden,” laugh out loud sentence. I’ll let you find it. And you can subscribe to the review here.

Yesterday I ran across this video by Zach Williams and the Bellow. Wow.

Zach Williams and the Bellow – TEACH ME TO KNOW from SerialBox Presents on Vimeo.

Want to talk more about good writing? Jump over to Amber’s blog this morning for her “The Saturdaily: Amber’s List.”

This entry was posted in The Saturdaily, The Sunday List, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Saturdaily: Seth’s List

  1. kconwayireton says:

    Seth, thanks for including my post here! I loved writing that piece; it made me think maybe I need to do more of that sort of thing 🙂 Sort of like you do here on your Saturdaily (a fun name, btw).

    Thanks, too, for sending me over to Deeper Story for Emily’s thought-provoking post. And that sentence of Dave’s you quote? My favorite in his post. So vivid. That bone-white slab will be with me all day.

  2. whole mama says:

    Struck by Emily’s courage to say, I don’t know what I think about X, Y, or Z. So much of my youth was spent spouting my cemented opinions. Midlife brings a wobble, a challenge, why did I claim this or that so vehemently? And, what exactly, now that I see life isn’t about patness and smugness, do I believe? ‘I don’t know’ is sometimes the most honest answer. Thanks for this, Seth.

Leave a Reply

