The Tension–An Ostrich, A Mystery & The Wail of Contentment

Over the last few months, I have had the privilege of getting to know Timothy Willard. Willard is a deep thinker and wonderful writer. Today, he continues the discussion of the creeping prosperity gospel by discussing the tension between what God promises and what he doesn’t.

Creative Commons License – Donarreiskoffer

I have been tasked with discussing the tension between suffering and blessing as it relates to life on planet earth and God’s so-called control over both. I say so-called because many of us look at the atrocities in the world and wonder, “How can a loving God allow this?”

I don’t pretend to know the answer to this question. I am, however, at ease with the lingering mystery of it. A haunting mystery really.

I will not repeat the discussion around suffering and blessing. You and I know the questions and the lack of answers and the debates. I want to look at how God built a transcendental framework around an ostrich.

 

Continue reading at A Deeper Church.

This entry was posted in Prosperity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

