The Surreal

Many of you know about my work at Tweetspeak Poetry, that grand website that brings poetry to the people. Every time I pen something for Tweetspeak, I want to shout “viva la revolucion,” want to send a note to the ivory-tower poets and tell them that we–the little people–are taking poetry back.

This month at Tweetspeak we’re exploring themes of surrealism, which should be both challenging and a good bit of fun. And every month,  I put together a bit of a playlist around the theme. This month’s playlist features songs that use extreme juxtapositions or unusual associations. Here is a bit of a sampler.

Visit Tweetspeak for the introduction to the month’s theme, the full playlist, and a poetry (or short story) prompt. I think you’ll love what they’re doing over there.

In other news, I’ll probably go a bit lighter on my personal writing this month. I’m still working through last month’s prosperity posts, mulling them over. (I hope you are too.) I’m also working on a longer bit of fiction and I’d like to start finalizing a good first draft.

In this quieter season, I invite you to like my Facebook page and/or subscribe to the blog. I’ll be dropping updates there (and on twitter) from time to time so that you can know when I’m back here on a more regular basis, which by my estimation will likely be December.

Head on over to Tweetspeak and create something surreal!

Original photo by SPDP, Creative Commons via Flickr. 

This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Surreal

  1. Thrilling! Heading over today, preparing for the excitement. This poetry journey is filled with twists and turns. Expectant.

  2. Keep shoutin’, Seth…la revolucion indeed. Adios.

Leave a Reply

