The Treachery of Images

Our Treacherous Images

seth haines surrealist poetry

In a moment of
candor
perhaps we
could be enough
our own allies
to remind one
another that we
are more than the
avatars with
which we grace
the world.
We are more than
images
for consumption.
We are what
we are–that
which is real.

 

Wonder about the genesis of this poem? Follow me over to Tweetspeak where I’m writing about the treachery of images.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Treachery of Images

  1. Interesting to consider the old native american hesitancy to be photographed, that it stole away pieces of the soul. The natives caved once money flashed in front of their faces, and, well, that’s history. I wonder if we’re doing the same thing on a soul level with all the images, imagery…of course that just sounds old fashioned, huh?

    • sethhaines says:

      Old fashioned, maybe. True? Yes.

      My mom sent me an article yesterday pointing to some social science indicating that all of this connectivity is making us crazy. And not “crazy” in the hyperbolic sense, but actually DSM-esque crazy. Very interesting article.

      I think I agree with you about the soul level thing. Sometimes I feel that tension in my own life. Probably not enough.

  2. interesting thoughts…but you know, sometimes a good, candid photo will reveal more of the real than even we sometimes know. I happen to be a fan of images, I guess.

  3. sethhaines says:

    I love me some images, D. That picture of me outside the duck camp with my 22 when I was 7? Priceless. I think where I’m starting to question things is in the social media context. I can carefully craft my persona around a particular image, can use the image to say something about me that’s not really true. But we’ve been conditioned to believe the images we see (that’s what the advertisers know), so we’re in effect “branding” ourselves. Less like cattle… more like Coca-Cola.

    I’m in the boat, too. I firmly recognize that. Oi….

    Diana, I always like it when you drop in here. You and Blase… you’re good people.

    • Thanks, Seth – and I am SO in the boat in terms of time spent out here. Occasionally, it worries me. I don’t do Twitter very often, but FB and blogging are huge time investments for me and I’m not sure about it all. That article sounds interesting – and more than a little scary. There are psychologist who say both positive and negative things about SM – I worry about it for our children, especially (my grandchildren) as their brains are still in formation mode.

Leave a Reply

