Sometimes the Night Was Beautiful

For those of you who read regularly, you know it’s been a bit quieter around here. I scratched some words I rather enjoyed and shared them at The High Calling and Tweetspeak, but otherwise, I’ve been keeping to myself a bit more these days. There are reasons for this.

I could write a good many things today about life, death, religion, and America. But I’m not going to. Instead, I’m going to share another’s words with you. This pretty much sums it up.

I hope you live in peace and mercy today. I hope you’ll cast some prayers about, but if you can’t do that, I hope you’ll sing.

This entry was posted in Mercy. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sometimes the Night Was Beautiful

  1. Jessica Y says:

    Yall are in my prayers today.

  2. “It’s easier if you sing sometimes.” Yes! Just this morning, I “sang” the words to this hymn, “Out of the Depths I Cry to You”:

    It is in God that we shall hope,
    And not in our own merit.
    We rest our fears in his good Word
    And trust his Holy Spirit.
    His promise keeps us strong and sure;
    We trust the holy signature
    Inscribes upon our temples.

  3. there was so much work left to do, but so much you’d already done…yes indeed. those verses are incomparable and so rarely heard. thinking of your family. grace and peace.

  4. bawling. so good, seth.

  5. hisfirefly says:

    I was crying out this morning, feeling stressed, so much work left to do — this was in His perfect timing Seth — thank you for sharing. I have long loved this song, but was truly blessed by the intro insights!

  6. gpersons65 says:

    Thank you for sharing this. Needed to hear this song. Praying for you all today.

  7. Oh, mercy. That took me to another place.

  8. Music was a huge part of my life for so many years. With a gifted pianist for a father (and a brother who is one still), singing in choirs for 40 years and gathering one of the largest CD collections known to humankind, I have felt pushed (gently) away from it in every setting except Sunday morning worship for about five years now. I am living with silence more now than ever in my entire life and it has been good and rich and refreshing. But listening to this lovely verbal/musical reflection reminds me of the richness of that other part of my life and it calls me to pray for you all as you travel for yet another Titus-test today. Much love to you as you go, as you wait, as you seek God’s face and answers to this terrible puzzle. Sing, if it helps. Because sometimes, it is the only thing that does.

  9. Ann Kroeker says:

    Rich said it so well for us, giving us words for times when we have none.

Leave a Reply

