A Holiday (Not a Haiku)

FrozenEach month, I have the privilege of composing a bit of a themed writing playlist for the good folks over at Tweetspeak Poetry. This month’s theme is haiku, but turns out, there aren’t that many seventeen syllable songs lying around. So, what did I do as a compromise? I pulled together a compilation of my favorite holiday songs, of course.

I start the playlist with Mariah Carey’s “All I want for Christmas,” because Amber and I always say that the Christmas season doesn’t officially start until we’ve heard that song. I’ve also thrown a bit of Stevie Wonder, The Shins, Neil Diamond (yes, Neil Diamond), Marvin Gaye, and The Polyphonic Spree for your listening enjoyment.

While you’re listening, make sure you check out the haiku writing prompt at Tweetspeak. (This means you and your students, too, Mom!) Next week, I’ll share a bit of a writing contest that might make good use of your prompt submission!

Enjoy the playlist (feel free to subscribe to it on Spotify), jog over to Tweetspeak, and get to writing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Holiday (Not a Haiku)

  1. thanks seth. i love me some christmas music. but you forgot my favorite song! sister winter by sufjan. that one gets me in the gut every time.

Leave a Reply

