Let There Be Light

20130102-060011.jpg

It’s been a while since I’ve last written. I needed space to clear cobwebs, to consider a sort of soft reset. There are times when it’s efficacious to stop it with the words, the blogging, the tweeters, the status updates.

When God created the heavens and the earth, he started simply. “Let there be light,” he said, and there was. These are the first words spoken in scripture, the Genesis of genesis. So, I think this is the most natural touchstone for my reset. I’m going to sit there a while.

I hope to stretch slowly this year, and I hope to share it with you. There will be blog posts, certainly, perhaps a poem or two. But I’m slinking back to the old words, too–like pencil scratchings in a journal, short stories written by ink-pen, and hand-written letters to friends and family. These things formed my love for writing, so it seems natural to return there.

Let there be light–a call to go back to the beginning of the creative process, when we first realized that there was power in the words of God, and consequently, our own, for we were made in his image, you see. I’m headed back to the beginning this year. I hope you’ll come along.

This entry was posted in Genesis, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Let There Be Light

  1. Ah the pen, the simple, the slower, the origins of writing and the birth of a love for words. This is inspired. I like the reset and I will follow the slow stretch.

  2. hisfirefly says:

    Yes. The stretching. May you become pliable in His hands. May the same be true for us all.

  3. T.D. Willard says:

    Stretching with you, brother.

  4. That’s my word for the year, incidentally: Light. I’ve missed reading here and am glad you’re back.

  5. “Let there be light–a call to go back to the beginning of the creative process, when we first realized that there was power in the words of God, and consequently, our own, for we were made in his image, you see.”

    Yes. I love this, such a wonderful reminder of where the words we pen originate.

  6. Arianne says:

    Missed your words. Light at the beginning instead of the end (of the tunnel)…I like it.

  7. For me, there’s still nothing quite like that scratching on the page. I get it.

    I can’t wait to see what God will do in your family: Kingdom and Light. Sounds like the stuff of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

