A Genesis Story: No Picture Proof

20130104-063437.jpg

For all I remember, I have loved words from the beginning.

When I was four, I sat in the lap of my mother’s best friend as she sang, “humble thyself in the sight of The Lord,” and played with my hair. At such an age, the words made little sense. Humble? Thyself? Even still, there was a sense of wonder in the words, of intrigue.

It might have been, of course, that the building dirge had something to do with the magic of the moment. The song is, after all, one of the all-time-greats as far as worship-ambiance goes. Or perhaps my enthrallment was spurred by the setting–exaggerated shadows dancing in the candlelit room; the slow breathing of the black lab sleeping quietly in my lap; the incense of Old Spice rising from the robust bearded man leading worship; the teenage girl with leg-warmers and bubblegum pink eyeshadow, the one whom I remember smelled of dime-store lip gloss.

Whatever the case may be, though, as the words rose, as they built up, I found myself captivated. That language could be used–really used–to usher in the presence of the living God? To conjur a spiritual world, or at least the dream of it? It was magic to me.

This was before the days of the internet, before Instagram and Facebook. There are no status updates to prove the validity of the moment, no nostalgically washed instaprints of it. You’ll find no tweet about the gathering, no attempt to reduce it to unmercifully limiting character restraints. And because you weren’t there, because you were living your own memories in places like Minnesota, or Manitoba, I’m limited in my ability to convey the meaning of the moment, left only with language. And you? You are limited by imagination and inference.

Maybe this is the way it should be more often than not.

This entry was posted in Genesis, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Genesis Story: No Picture Proof

  1. hisfirefly says:

    Shout out for Manitoba! Though at that time I was likely living my life in Illinois…

  2. As a teacher of emerging readers the skill of inference was deeply satisfying to teach. Likely due to my passion for print and the delight that the mind enjoys when a writer skillfully leads the imagination to awareness or visions trusting in the reader’s participation.

  3. pastordt says:

    Lovely ideas, Seth. I think we can have/do both/and – internet and experiences that don’t make it here. For me, at least, writing things down and taking pictures of them helps me slow it down a little bit, encourages me to reflect on my life more carefully and intentionally. I do find myself wanting to get back into books that I hold, however. Too many blogs subscribed to, too many Kindle events, which – wonderful as they are – are not the same as a book-in-hand.

    • sethhaines says:

      I definitely agree you can do both. Sometimes, though, I wonder whether our engagement of social media pulls us away from careful and intentional living/reflecting/word-crafting. I’ve been mulling this over for some time (as you know), and I still have no conclusions. I always enjoy your input on the topic.

Leave a Reply

