The One You Don’t Want to Miss

I’ve been taking to reflection and dictation in the car. When it’s quiet, when the world is not fluttering about with twitter updates (#whyamIsoaddicted) and Facebook notifications, it seems easier to think properly. And the last day or so I’ve been reflecting over certain words of John Blase, which ironically, I discovered on Facebook.

I’m not too old just yet, but over the course of my life, there have been a few whose words seem to meet me at the door, shake my hand, and say, “come sit a spell.”  I could tick of those names, but frankly, I’m afraid that Blase might curse me for placing him in such esteemed company. But it’s true–if Blase had the budget for a personal apologist, I’d likely turn in a curriculum vitae and an application.

I’m not trying to go all Misery here, really. I’m no Annie Wilkes and John’s assuredly a better wordsmith than Paul Sheldon. But it’s a poem like his “Likely,” that will make you reconsider your top ten list of working-class poets, and might make you whisper words like, “I’m your number one fan.”   Really.

Take a gander at John’s piece today. And perhaps, if you’re so inclined, jump on  Twitter and tweet one of the following (this is what the cut and paste is for):

“To the list of endangered species could we
please add the language of kindness?” @johnblase http://bit.ly/YGrPz8

“We have devolved into mean-mouthed brats
entitled to speak our truth.” @johnblase http://bit.ly/YGrPz8

(Yes, I like to provide both snarky and non-snarky options for those of different present dispositions.) And if you’re double inclined, share it on Facebook.

Today, I raise a glass to Blase. Cheers, sir! You always know how to write ’em.

*Also, today I share my Top 10 Poetic Picks of the Week over at Tweetspeak. There’s a good bit of creative fodder there if you’re hurt’n for some inspiration.

**For regular updates, follow me on Twitter or like my Facebook page.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The One You Don’t Want to Miss

  1. True that and a loud amen. I tried to tweet his work which I adore but alas twitter was over capacity. Darn.

  2. I was raised to say ‘thank you’ when others show kindness to me, so ‘thank you.’

  3. Troy says:

    Wow.
    Indeed….
    Thanks for the intro

Leave a Reply

