LET’S GO CRAZY–A POTPOURRI PURPLE POETRY PROMPT OF TYRANNASAURICAL PROPORTIONS

5924432723_823f6f219d_z-565x338As I considered material for our last purple poetry prompt, visions of Barney–that short-armed, purple, sing-songy dinosaur–haunted me. He, dancing in my mind’s eye, musing that classic children’s standard, “I love you, you love me, we’re a happy family.”

“Shut up, Barney!” I thought. “There are serious poets that visit these parts and they want serious prompts.”

He was unrelenting, kept singing his song, like a drill bit boring into skull.

Determined to write a prompt involving something more substantive than a dancing dinosaur, I wracked my brain for purple material, settling, finally on exploring the historical context of the nursery rhyme of Little Jack Horner. Remember Mr. Horner, that precocious boy with a knack for extracting whole plumbs from a pie using nothing but his thumb? The oft-forgotten back-story of the nursery rhyme finds its roots in bribery, treachery, and King Henry VIII’s quest to subvert the Catholic Church and take its gold. And just as I was beginning to tease out the nuances of this plum poetry prompt…

“I love you, you love me….” Barney usurped the story with his own utopistic notions.

*For more about the manner in which Barney’s intrusions cramp my style, follow me over to Tweetspeak today. And jump into the mix!

 

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to LET’S GO CRAZY–A POTPOURRI PURPLE POETRY PROMPT OF TYRANNASAURICAL PROPORTIONS

  1. Deborah says:

    thank you ! where can we post again ~` please ~ I’m slightly new at these things 😦

Leave a Reply

