Shadow of a Doubt

MotherTeresaDoubt

In the soft light, the evangelist coaxes.

“Are you sure, absolutely sure beyond any shadow of a doubt, that if you were to die tonight, you would see Jesus? You’re running out of time here, students. Your life is limited.” He weaves in stories of sudden death. Teenagers with exploding hearts. Earthquakes and natural disasters in foreign countries. “A breath away,” he says.

His counselors surround him like apostles, like bible bodyguards. “Beyond a shadow of any doubt,” he repeats, then asks for a head-bowed show of hands and begins thanking people for the courage to choose to be numbered. My head is not bowed, mostly because I believe that even evangelists need accountability. I do not note a single hand corresponding with his many thank yous, but nonetheless, he thanks another phantom. And another. He catches my open eyes. He winks and smiles. Thanks another.

*Today I’m discussing doubt over at A Deeper Church. I think there’s freedom in confessing these things. Join me at A Deeper Church for more.

*For regular updates, follow me on Twitter or like my Facebook page.
This entry was posted in A Deeper Church, Doubt and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shadow of a Doubt

Leave a Reply

