If I Stand…

This morning I woke up with the bars of an old Rich Mullins tune in my head.  It’s the song that I used as my morning alarm in college (oh grand Sony CD alarm clock, where ever did you go?).

“Stuff of earth competes for the allegiance I owe only to the giver of all good things.” 

After humming a few bars I made my way over to John Blase’s place.  He’s a Colorado native, so I reckon you right-well know what that means.  I read “The List…” and figured a prayer for John.

Christ, have mercy on our Colorado friends. Some of them are good people.

This entry was posted in Grace, Mercy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If I Stand…

  1. Oh, Rich . . . I was listening to this song on my walk yesterday, along with some of his others. And how I WISH I could hear the music he’s making now.

    • sethhaines says:

      I think about this line a lot… “nobody tells you when you get born here how much you’ll come to love it and how you’ll never belong here.” It’ll give you a smile to think about a man who’s found his home.

      Hope you, Austin, and the boys who share names with my boys and me are doing well.

  2. Kiki Malone says:

    Thanks for linking that Blase. Read it. Passed it on. I think it’s funny that you had a Rich song on your alarm. I vividly remember a season when I began every morning with Rich Mullins in the background. And sometimes when the natural world drives over me, flooring out all the technologies that I try to hold so dear, I hear Rich Mullins singing inside my head. Glory.

Leave a comment